Join Telegram Group Join Now
Join Facebook Group Join Now
Indian States and Capitals

Indian States and Capitals 2022 | List of 28 States and 8 Union Territories and its Capitals

Indian States and Capitals

Indian States and Capitals: India is the seventh-largest country in the world and also the second in populous. It lies in southern Asia. It is officially known as the Republic of India. It is governed by a parliamentary form of government. It gets very difficult to manage a large country from one place. So Indian Constitution gives the right to the central government to make states feel suitable. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in our country India. This article talks about the list of the Indian States and their Capitals.

Indian States and Capitals

Many people don’t know the total number of Indian States and Capitals / Union Territories in India and their capitals. In this article, we are giving you the latest update on the States and their Capitals of India. There are a total of 28 states and 8 union territories in India at present. Each state of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital some state all three functions are conducted in one capital. Every state is ruled by a Chief Minister. Here we have covered the list of the Indian States and Capitals, Union Territories, and their capitals.

India States and Their Capitals List and Languages

India has a total of 28 states and 8 union territories. The 28 Indian States and their capitals list and their official languages are as follows.

Name of the StateCapital CityOfficial Languages
Andhra PradeshHyderabad Telugu
Arunachal PradeshItanagarEnglish
Himachal PradeshShimlaHindi
Madhya PradeshBhopalHindi
ManipurImphalMeiteilon (Manipuri)
Tamil NaduChennaiTamil
TelanganaHyderabadTelugu, Urdu
and Kokborok
Uttar PradeshLucknowHindi
West BengalKolkataBengali

India Union Territories and Their Capitals List

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At present India has 8 Union Territories.

Union territoryCapital Name Official Language
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair English, Hindi
ChandigarhChandigarh  Punjabi
Dadra and Nagar HaveliSilvassa Gujarati, Hindi
DelhiNew Delhi Hindi
Jammu and Kashmir (from 31 October 2019)Srinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
 Hindi, Urdu
Ladakh (from 31 October 2019)Leh Ladakhi
LakshadweepKavaratti Malayalam
PuducherryPondicherry English, Tamil

States and Capitals of India Map

You can check the latest political map of India which provides the total number of states and union territories in India and their capitals at present.

Indian States and Capitals

Image Source:

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1. How many states are there in India?

Ans. India is a union of 28 states and 8 union territories in the country.

Q2. How many union territories are there in India?

Ans. There are 8 union territories in India at present.

Q3. What is the Capital of India?

Ans. New Delhi is the capital of India.

Q4. Which Union territories were merged in January 2020?

Ans. Daman and Diu are merged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli.

Join Telegram Group Join Now
Join Facebook Group Join Now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.