Join Telegram Group Join Now
Join Facebook Group Join Now

This political party creates history by winning on all Zilla Parishad posts

Odisha’s ruling occasion Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has created historical past by forming Zilla Parishad in all 30 districts of the state. Apparently, 70% of presidents of those Panchayati raj establishments are ladies. “For the primary time within the historical past of Odisha, and doubtless throughout the nation, a single occasion has fashioned Zilla Parishad (ZP) in all of the districts in a state,” Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik stated.

Saraswarti Majhi, 23, has been chosen because the youngest Zilla Parishad President. A BSc graduate, she shall be spearheading the event actions in Rayagada district.  26-year-old Samari Tangul of Swabhiman Anchal has been chosen as Zilla Parishad President in Malkangiri. Different ladies Zilla Parsihad presidents embrace Saraswati Majhi from the distant Kashipur block, Kumudini Nayak from distant Bamra block.  A complete of 21 ladies have been chosen because the Zilla Parishad presidents, which is 70% of the whole seats, though the ladies reservation is 50% statutorily. The bigger districts of Mayurbhanj, Ganjam, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Sambalpur, and districts of undivided Koraput (besides Nawrangpur) are headed by ladies Zilla Parishad presidents.

BJD has crammed 67% of Zilla Parishad’s president seats (unreserved/ladies) with members from the OBC group.

In his dwelling district of Ganjam, Naveen Patnaik has chosen an OBC ladies candidate because the Zilla Parishad President.

15 of the 30 districts (50%) have zilla parishad president under the age of 40 years and 23 of the 30 districts (76%) have their council president under 50 years.

The BJD leaders stated the chosen candidates have comparatively “larger academic {qualifications}” with 18 district council presidents having accomplished commencement and 26 of them have accomplished not less than 2 degree training.

The BJD had registered a landslide victory within the three-tier panchayat polls by successful 766 out of 852 seats, held in 5 phases final month on February 16, 18, 20, 22, and 24, respectively.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a legitimate electronic mail

* Thanks for subscribing to our publication.

By no means miss a narrative! Keep linked and knowledgeable with Mint.
our App Now!!

Join Telegram Group Join Now
Join Facebook Group Join Now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.