Join Telegram Group Join Now
Join Facebook Group Join Now

Wife dropped, husband ‘Babush’ featured in Pramod Sawant led-cabinet


Pramod Sawant took oath because the Chief Minister of Goa for the second time period on 28 March, Monday. The Sawant led cupboard featured some new faces like Rohan Khaunte, Ravi Naik, Subhash Shirodkar and Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate.

Notably, Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate’s spouse Jennifer Monserrate was dropped from the council, who was Pramod Sawant’s solely girl minister throughout his first tenure. 

Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate is a BJP heavyweight MLA, from the Panaji Meeting constituency. He has been a three-term member of the Goa Legislative Meeting. He was additionally one of many 10 MLAs of Congress who had joined the BJP in July 2019. Monserrate was made a Minister of City and Nation Planning within the Manohar Parrikar-led authorities within the state.

Jennifer Monserrate, spouse of Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate, was an an MLA from Taleigao. She was the one woman Minister within the first time period of Sawant because the Chief Minister. However she has now been dropped from the brand new council of ministers.

New faces in Pramod Sawant’s cupboard

Aside from Atanasio ‘Babush’ Monserrate, there have been three new faces within the council of ministers that took oath in Panaji on Monday- Rohan Khaunte, Ravi Naik, Subhash Shirodkar.

Rohan Khaunte, an MLA from Porvorim constituency of Goa, has beforehand served as Minister of IT, Income, Labour and Employment and Planning and Statistics and Analysis within the Cupboard of Manohar Parrikar.

Rohan first contested the Goa Meeting Elections in 2012 as an unbiased candidate and received by a majority of votes. He’s a self-proclaimed sports activities lover and represented the state of Goa within the subject of Cricket and Basketball.

Subhash Shirodkar, one other new face, is the social gathering’s candidate from Siroda constituency. The 70-year previous had give up Congress in 2018 and had resigned because the Member of the Legislative Meeting to affix the Bharatiya Janata Celebration.

Ravi Naik, the previous Chief Minister of Goa, started his profession with the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Celebration. He’s a member of five-member Congress Legislative Celebration (CLP) of Goa and remained with the social gathering in the course of the two-thirds cut up within the CLP in 2019 when 10 MLAs had defected to the ruling BJP.

Pramod Sawant led-cabinet takes oath

Eight state Bharatiya Janata Celebration (BJP) leaders together with the Chief Minister took oath at a grand swearing-in ceremony right here which was additionally attended by high social gathering brass, together with Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Following Sawant taking the oath, the BJP leaders Vishwajit Rane, Mauvin Godinho, Ravi Naik, Nilesh Cabral, Subhash Shirodkar, Rohan Khaunte, Govind Gaude, and Atanasio Monserrate have been additionally sworn in as Goa’s cupboard ministers.

Former Goa Ministers Vishwajit Rane, Mauvin Godinho, Nilesh Cabral managed to remain within the newly sworn in authorities, whereas 4 former ministers, which included a couple of who had left the Bharatiya Janata Celebration (BJP) forward of the state polls, have been lacking from the brand new Goa authorities. 

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a sound e mail

* Thanks for subscribing to our e-newsletter.

the App to get 14 days of limitless entry to Mint Premium completely free!

Join Telegram Group Join Now
Join Facebook Group Join Now

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.